The Doak House Museum is a non-profit, educational institution, established as a museum in 1975. Its mission is collecting, interpreting, researching, preserving, and exhibiting the original Doak House, college related artifacts (since 1794), Doak family artifacts (1830-1860), and educational and religious artifacts and documents from Northeast Tennessee.
Tusculum’s Old College building (1841) is home to Tusculum University’s special collections, including the President Andrew Johnson Library, Coffin Rare Book Collection, and University Archives.
Tusculum University offers two programs that prepare students for careers in the museum field. Students may complete a museum studies concentration in either History or Art & Design. Both programs emphasize hands-on learning and students gain invaluable experience working at campus museums, archives, and art galleries. All students complete an off-campus internship as part of their preparation for graduate education or professional employment.
For more information, contact Dr. Peter Noll at firstname.lastname@example.org or (423)636-7300 ext. 5348.
Be a partner in restoring the Doak House Museum’s chimneys to their former capacity! In restoring the chimneys, the Doak House Museum can offer a more immersed historical experience for visitors and learning groups. Click below to donate toward this project and choose “Old College & Doak House Museum”.